Best Advice

19 Aug

BNET sent me this link to an article by Steve Tobak on the best advice he’s gotten and how he remembers them so distinctly. http://blogs.bnet.com/ceo/?p=2677&tag=nl.e713

Got me thinking about some of the best advice I have received and how I remember them.

  1. “Your not doing a very good job” – My very first boss. He was right, I wasn’t working very hard and didn’t realize how that manifested itself. Needless to say that’s the last time I ever heard those words. Probably the single most important feedback I ever received.
  2. “We call that job security” – my former boss Debbie Josephs said that one on a call one day in response to a coworker stating how busy they were. I never complain if I am busy.
  3. “Don’t rehearse worry” – Another Debbieism. Takes a lot of the stress out. Work hard and do your best, that’s all you can do.
  4. “Be sincere” – Advice on the most important management skill I could have by a long time mentor of mine Brian Kane. He gave it to me when I first became  a manager. Applies to so many siutatuions.
  5. “Go directly for your terminal degree” – advice about education from a psychology professor. I don’t remember his name or anything else he said that semester, but it made so much sense. Education is great, but go straight for the degree that will help you get a job first.

I hope to remember some more and post them.

Leave a Reply

