Sustaining Individual Performance

24 Apr

Thought I had on the LIRR today. I do some of my best thinking on the LIRR. It might not make any sense but that’s wh I am posting it on my blog and not someone else’s.

This is about sustaining your performance over a period of time. Let’s face it most of us do pretty much the same job week in week out and even if you love what you do (ed note: I am currently in year 9 of loving what I do) it’s hard to differentiate your work/success every week.

Several months ago I had the opportunity to discuss sustaining long term perfromance with some members of Blue Man Group. Some members perform the same exact show 6+ times per week all year round! I asked them how they measure their performance per show? They actually had a hard time coming up with a metric. Maybe I’ll save the details for another post, but the outcome was that most individuals don’t measure their performance regularly.

At the end of every week give yourself a grade. It could be ABCD, 1-5 or 1-10, it doesn’t really matter. What matters is that you give yourself the grade weekly. Under the grade create 4-5 bullet points as to why you deserve that grade. Highlight areas that you feel you did well or areas that you could have done better. Under those 4-5 bullets create 2-3 bullets that highlight what you will do next week to either a) improve your performance or b)sustain your performance level. Do this week after week. Over time you will have developed a map to what it takes for you to perform at a high level week after week.

I think this could potentially a great way to quantify your own performance and identify the elements that could lead to sustained high level performance.

Leave a Reply

